Hat Trick (The Black Jack Gentlemen Book 4) by Liz Crowe

HatTrickTitle: Hat Trick

Series: The Black Jack Gentlemen Book 4

Author: Liz Crowe

Genre: Romance

Blurb: Detroit’s expansion pro team has a hot star forward, fresh from the English Premiere League. Thanks to a series of fatal misunderstandings coupled with his famous temper, Declan MacGuire only has one thing left to him—soccer—and he’s determined not to make the same mistakes in his new life stateside.

Emily Keller, an accidental low-level PR flunkie for the team watches as Declan gets sucked into a whirlwind romance with Cassandra Dean, the team’s Queen Bee groupie, trying not to be jealous while the woman maneuvers him into a sickeningly familiar situation.

When things escalate, the team is forced to take sides, and Declan faces the toughest choice of his life.

Thoughts: This is the first book I’ve read of Liz Crowe’s and I’m not much of a soccer fan so I wasn’t sure how I’d like this one. This story was about Declan MacGuire the Scottish defensive forward, and Emily Keller who is currently going through a divorce and is new to the public relations department of the Black Jack Gentlemen. You saw the attraction between Declan and Emily but life kept getting in the way.

This book contained a lot of melodrama with some conflict. Declan is very infuriating and very self-destructive. He’s a hotheaded bad-boy, selfish and rather than follow his heart he stupidly pursues someone who isn’t right for him.

Emily is trying to get through a divorce from wealthy husband Marcus who in his own right is worse than Declan but she has a daughter to consider.

I found the characters a little bit to flawed and unbelievable.

This was a slow read for me as I was only able to read a little bit at a time because I’d get so angry and frustrated with the characters that I’d have to put the book down and come back to it later.

I want to be able to enjoy the book I’m reading and be able to somewhat understand where the characters are coming from. Maybe I need to read the first three books in the series to better understand background of the series.

Grade: B


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: