Off Limits by Kelly Jamieson

cover72207-mediumTitle:    Off Limits

Series:  Aces Hockey #1.5

Author:  Kelly Jamieson

Genre:  Romance, Hockey

Blurb:   Perfect for fans of Sawyer Bennett and Toni Aleo, Kelly Jamieson’s charming holiday novella kicks off a brand-new series featuring the hunky hockey stars of the Chicago Aces.
 
The Christmas season always puts a smile on Jenna McFadden’s face. Even though she’s bringing a boyfriend home for the first time, inside she’s dying to see Andrew. Years ago, when the McFaddens took the troubled teen into their home, Jenna had to keep her blazing-hot crush a secret. And now that he’s playing pro hockey for the NHL’s Chicago Aces, nothing’s changed. With his wide shoulders and taut muscles, Andrew’s the most tempting package in the house . . . one that Jenna’s dying to unwrap.

Andrew Ross just can’t make a play for Jenna. Her dad and brothers wouldn’t approve, and he could never betray the trust of the wonderful people who treated him like family when he lost his own. That’s what makes the holidays so hard. Whether Jenna’s skating with Andrew on a frozen pond or sitting on his lap while he plays Santa, she’s pushing all their boundaries—and there’s only so much a man can take. Andrew knows that she’s off-limits. But something deep down tells him that Jenna’s heart is the one prize he simply has to win.

Thoughts:  This is my first time reading a book by this author, and I have to admit I went after it for the hockey angle. I mean, I have to admit that I have loved every hockey themed romance novel that has come my way the past few years – even though I do not – not – watch hockey on television. I would not say that I am a sports fan at all. However, that does not dim my enjoyment of a good sports themed novel. I enjoyed this one, and it was a very sweet romantic, Christmas-y read. I do have to admit that I didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I would though. Between the storyline and the hockey element, I was really expecting to be blown out of the water! Maybe a feeling along the lines of what I get when I pick up one of those hockey books by Toni Aleo!

In this instance, I don’t know….there just seemed to be something missing for me. I’m not really sure what to pin it on exactly – just an elusive something that kept me from marking it higher and from enjoying it just a tad bit more.

Would I read another book by the other? I have to say I would definitely be up for reading a different book by the author….:)

Rate:  B-/C+

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: