Once Perfect by Cecy Robson

cover50198-mediumTitle:  Once Perfect

Series:  Shattered Love Book #1

Author:  Cecy Robson

Genre:  Romance/Contemorary

Blurb:  His life was never easy. Hers wasn’t supposed to be this hard. They come from different worlds, but fate lures them together in a way neither expected in Cecy Robson’s raw, steamy series debut—perfect for fans of Monica Murphy and J. Lynn.
Evelyn Preston’s future once looked perfect—until her wealthy father was caught in an embezzlement scandal and took his own life. Alone and struggling to pay her college tuition and bills, Evelyn finds a job as a waitress at the ultra-hip nightclub Excess, where she used to have more in common with the privileged private-school clientele than her fellow staff members. But something attracts her to the sexy six-foot-four bouncer and underground MMA fighter Mateo Tres Santos. Although they’ve led different lives, their troubled pasts bonds them in both survival and love.

Mateo is ex-army who wound up in prison for assaulting the man who harmed his sister. Now he’s feeling the same protective impulse for this petite blond waitress. When Evelyn experiences a panic attack at the club, Mateo comes to her rescue. And when Mateo is wounded shielding her from a brawl, Evelyn returns the favor and comes to his aid.
As their attraction intensifies, Mateo is determined to find out what nightmares are lurking in Evelyn’s past—even if that means tackling his own to save her.

Thoughts:  I can’t rave enough over how amazing this book was – I was hooked from page one, and I must admit I even broke into a laugh a time or two (which is quite unusual for me!)  These characters immediately came to life within the pages of this novel and I was captivated – and yes, spellbound! – by their story and their attraction to one another.  But this romance was not all hearts and flowers – oh, no!- not this book! – If you’re looking for the typical happily ever after this is not it.  It deals with the hard issues.  At times, it will wrench at your emotions.  But I connected with these characters.  They were real and they had real problems.  They had a real relationship.  They struggle.  They fight for what they love and want in this world.  And they fight not to let the troubles in this world – or the bad people in it – bring them down.  This is one of those reads that will stick out in my mind as the best of 2014 – no doubt.  Loved it, and love this author.  Can’t wait to read more from her!

Rate:  A+

 

Share

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: